Friday, 27 October 2017 15:46

SAGHS, Lakshmi Girls' Cop President's Medals

Written by
Rate this item
(3 votes)

The winners of this year's President's Medal have come from two girls schools in St. Augustine.

They are Sanjalie Maraj of St. Augustine Girls' High School, and Vishala Goon of Lakshmi Girls' Hindu College.

Making the announcement at a Press Conference on Friday afternoon, Education Minister, Anthony Garcia, noted that this was the third time Lakshmi Girls’ had copped the Medal.

The Minister said Cabinet agreed this year to award a total of 382 scholarships - 153 being Open Scholarships while 229 were Additional.

He said a number of Government schools also attained scholarships. 

Mr. Garcia was particularly pleased with the performance of El Dorado East Secondary.

He reminded that last year there was need to remove some students from the school because of complaints of indiscipline.

The top performing schools were St. Joseph's Convent in Port of Spain, with 38 scholarships, and Naparima Girls' High School in San Fernando with 30.

The Minister said while the girls have once again outperformed the boys, it's not daunting.

Read 13603 times Last modified on Friday, 27 October 2017 19:35
  • Press Releases
There will be a big showdown this evening at the Jean Pierre Sports Complex, as the Basketball for Basketballers
This country's national netballers will go into action at 6pm today to continue in the quest for a place at the World
Athletes who represented Trinidad and Tobago with distinction in recent months have been assured that they will be paid
In this football wrap, Kent Fuentes tells us about a TT Pro League win for Central FC over Morvant Caledonia AIA by
An almost flawless shooting performance from T&T duo Samantha Wallace and goal-attack Kalifa Mc Collin handed the
Three different players were on target as Police FC spanked Terminix St. Ann's Rangers 3-0 in the first of three
  • 1
  • 2