go here
Friday, 27 October 2017 11:44

Education Ministry Responds To Legal Action Filed By Scholarship Recipient

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Ministry of Education has responded to legal action filed against it by one scholarship recipient.

The Ministry has reaffirmed its commitment to provide monies necessary for the upkeep of students at their respective institutions each semester.

President's Medal winner 2016 Priya Maraj has chosen to take legal action against the State to recover payments not made on her scholarship.

19 year old Miss Maraj is currently pursuing her Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry at the University of Toronto in Canada with plans to pursue a career in forensic sciences.

In a release on Monday, the Ministry said payments are processed in a timeframe that coincides with both the requirements of the academic institutions that Scholars attend and the financial year of the Government of Trinidad and Tobago.

The Ministry explained its Scholarships and Advanced Training Division assigns a Scholar Support Officer to each Scholar to whom they can make queries or raise concerns.

The Ministry said Scholars and potential Scholars should also note that there are procedures in place to facilitate the payment of all monies, which include the timely submission by scholars of all necessary and requested documents.

Read 7152 times
  • Press Releases
La Londe Gordon and Renee Quow were named Tobago House of Assembly Sports Men of the Year. The duo were part of the
The Quarter Finals of the Trinidad and Tobago Championship Division T20 competition will be contested this weekend.
First, it was their second team that tied Central Sports. Now, the Queen's Park first team watched as Merry Boys
The under-fire Executive of the Amateur Swimming Association of Trinidad and Tobago (ASATT) survived a No Confidence
Hillview College defeated Shiva Boys by eight wickets to advance to the Semi-Finals of the Powergen SSCL Intercol T20
Another appeal for more high level football for local players, which comes from national football coach Dennis Lawrence
  • 1
  • 2