Friday, 28 October 2016 18:08

Gas Station Blues

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Privately owned and operated Petrol stations across the country have begun taking cash only at the pump and not using electronic cards as payment for fuel.

The move comes as the Petroleum Dealers Association made the call to its members, who say they are being squeezed because of low profit margins for gasoline and can't afford to pay between one to three dollars per transaction for card payments.

C News Live has received reports from motorists who have told us from as far away as Rio Claro to Cedros, it’s cash only at the pump.

On Thursday the Finance Minister instructed all gas stations owned and operated by National Petroleum to accept debit and credit cards for fuel.

However in a press release sent to media houses this morning, the Finance Ministry made it clear there are two types of NP stations: that which is owned and operated by National Petroleum and that which is owned by NP but operated by dealers.

In light of the current situation, the government says its examining the terms and conditions of the licences granted to dealers who operate under NP ownership to see whether they are allowed to refuse to accept credit or debit cards.

If dealers are found to be in breach of the licence, the Finance Ministry says appropriate action will be taken.

Read 11005 times Last modified on Friday, 28 October 2016 20:10
  • Press Releases
The Atlantic Primary School Cricket League Inter-School Competition came to an end on Friday. Preysal Government,
Trinidad and Tobago came from behind to beat the United States South in a key clash in the Rugby Americas North
Trinidad and Tobago's stickmen made it two in two versus Guyana at Hockey Centre. Ruskin Mark has more on the
The Royhil Seals National Primary Schools Water Polo League came to an exciting conclusion at the Flying Fish pool.
Defending TT Super League Champions Guaya United F.C. stumbled at the start of their title defense when they were
Top-ranked local Men's player, Aaron Wilson, and National Women's Champion, Brittany Joseph, captured the Boys and
  • 1
  • 2